Gluten-free diet: what foods can celiacs eat and which ones can not?

  • The first thing we should know is that gluten is a set of small proteins found in wheat and its variants, such as oats, rye, semolina, spelled, barley or kamut.
  • Before starting a gluten-free diet, it is essential that we have been diagnosed with celiac disease and that our doctor has prescribed this type of diet.
  • For a few years, gluten-free diets have been very fashionable without having any type of intolerance, however, this should not be done, since Eliminating whole grains from the diet without having to do so makes us dispense with their beneficial properties, such as its richness in fiber or its cardioprotective effect. Also, some people turn to substitutes for gluten-containing products believing they are healthier, but sometimes those gluten-free products can contain more fats and sugars.
  • If any member of the family is celiac at home, we must be extremely careful when making the shopping list and cooking, especially if it is the little one in the house. Take note of the foods that can and cannot be eaten.

GLUTEN FREE foods that a celiac can eat

These foods are naturally gluten-free, therefore there is no problem for a person with celiac disease to eat them:

  • Milk and derivatives: cheeses, spreads without flavors, cottage cheese, cream, plain yogurts, curd.
  • All kinds of fresh meat and organ meats, frozen and preserved in nature.
  • Sausages: jerky, serrano ham and cooked ham of extra quality.
  • Fresh and frozen fish without coating, fresh seafood and fish and shellfish canned in natural or oil.
  • Eggs.
  • Vegetables, vegetables and tubers.
  • Fruits.
  • Legumes and rice.
  • Sugar and honey.
  • Oils and butters.
  • Coffee beans or ground, infusions and orange, lemon and cola soft drinks.
  • Wines and sparkling drinks.
  • Nuts raw.
  • Salt, wine vinegar, spices in branch, in grain and all natural.

MAY contain gluten

However, it is very important to take into account that the list of gluten-free foods that a celiac can take that we have prepared refers to products that, by their nature, should not contain gluten. However, in their manufacturing or formulation process they may have been contaminated or contain traces of gluten, so they always pay special attention to labeling. And, when in doubt as to whether a product contains gluten or not, it is best not to consume it. 

Foods that DO HAVE GLUTEN

All the foods that we specify below have gluten, so celiacs cannot take them. They should be replaced by special foods for celiacs:

  • Bread, wheat flour, barley, rye and any food that has any of these ingredients such as buns, cakes, tarts, cookies, biscuits, or baked goods.
  • Pasta like noodles, macaroni or noodles they also contain gluten.
  • Distilled or fermented beverages from cereals: beer, barley water.
  • Ice creams in bulk or with cucurcuho. or cake.
  • Candies in bulk.
  • Dairy products with cereals.
  • Fish breaded or battered.
  • Wheat bran or wheat germ
  • Christmas consumer products like polvorones, mantecados or roscones de Reyes.
    * Except for certified brands suitable for celiacs.

Practical advice if there is a celiac at home

  • When you go to Go shopping It is essential to look at the labels of the products that we are going to buy to make sure they are gluten-free.
  • Avoid buying bulk products that do not have labels.
  • It is recommended eliminate wheat flours and normal breadcrumbs from the kitchen and replace them with gluten-free flours and breadcrumbs to avoid mistakes.

Information consulted in:FACE (Federation of Celiac Associations of Spain).

Video: Keys to recognize if your child is celiac

Leave Your Comment

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here